MENTOR

Being a mentor is being a very important figure in someone’s life. You should not take being a mentor as a joke. A mentor is someone that helps guide their “mentee” through any and every obstacle in life. Being a mentor is a big task, but not a difficult one. It it being there for someone at all times and always supporting them. For me I knew that before going into Leadership class and learning the roles of a mentor. We discussed different scenarios that you might face being a mentor, and some people were surprised by some of the challenges that were presented. Personally, I think being a mentor is a privilege. I knew the responsibilities of being a mentor before I even got a mentee, but I am so excited to be a mentor in someone’s life. It is an amazing feeling to be able to lend such a big helping hand to someone.

I am most looking forward to growing a close bond with my mentee. I think to be a successful mentor you need to be on a personal level with that person to mentor them to your full ability. By having a close bond, you can learn their strengths, weaknesses, wants, and needs. Getting to know the person you mentor is extremely important. I think it’s important to know their goals and passion to help them in anything they are setting their mind to. I know I will grow that bond with my mentee, and I cannot wait to get to know her on a more personal level.

I also believe I am fully prepared to be a mentor. I don’t think there is anything I have to do specifically to become a better mentor. I am a people person and strongly believe in just being yourself. I just am so ready for the experience, especially to get to know such an amazing leader and guide them through life. That’s an honor that should not be taken lightly.

I am lucky enough to have an amazing mentee named Maddie Karcher. I surprised her at her work to tell her I am her mentor! We connected instantly and are already starting to build a relationship. She met me for lunch yesterday and made me an exam survival kit. I know next school year her and I are going to become really close friends. I am beyond ecstatic to become apart of her life.

Leave a Reply

