Blog Post: Be The Miracle.

regina1
Be The Miracle
published in 2012 by Regina Brett is a book that has fifty lessons for making the impossible possible. This book gives you lessons how to be a miracle in your everyday life. Regina Brett has many stories to relate to all of the fifty lessons on how to become a miracle. She is author of the New York Times and is a columnist for the Plain Dealer in Cleveland, Ohio. She has been faced with many challenges and opportunities in her life to make this book very inspiring and personal. The title of the cover states, “Inspiring (and entertaining) anecdotes of morally heroic everyday people.’ – Family Circle”

I went to the book store with my dad to find a book that would help me support my why statement of being a leader. When I saw this book, Be The Miracle, then read the description of what it is about I knew book would support my way statement (Inspire Others to break their unwanted definitions of the past to find their full potential of the future). I want to find every little inspiration out there to help me become the little miracle in people’s lives.

Be The Miracle is a book full of fifty different lessons, one lesson for each chapter. One chapter lesson that was important to me was everyone matters to somebody (Lesson 11). Regina tells the story of two men that made an impact at a homeless shelter for men, mostly alcoholics. One of the men was found in a dumpster and was homeless most of his life, but he became a minister to the homeless shelter. The group made their motto, “Everyone matters to somebody.” Another man that volunteers at this homeless shelter named John Gulley who became a barber at the establishment. He did not only cut the homeless men’s hair, but he listened to them and cared for them. Those people cared for the people that didn’t seem to be cared about by anyone. Regina was making a point in this lesson that everyone on this entire world, even people we don’t interact with, are important. Everyone matters to somebody.

Lesson 21, Dream big. Even though dreaming big seems like a simple lesson to learn, it’s an important one. Regina told a story of a girl who dreamed big to back up her lesson. A little girl lived in a poor inner-city neighborhood. Every child in this neighborhood went to the same school where the US Postal Service angels adopted their school for the holidays to buy them presents for Christmas. Most students asked for toys and games. Out of 1,272 students slips of what they wanted for Christmas one stuck out to the postal service. It belonged to a girl name Latanya. She wrote, “shoes, school clothes, food, and a bed.” She dreamed big and received big. This six year old girl kept her dreams high to one day own a bed, and she was granted with a whole bedroom set. Dreams really do come true if you keep wishing and believing.

Lesson 24, God doesn’t always call the strong. Sometimes you have to be weak enough to serve. This lesson caught me off guard a little bit. Regina used the examples of people that failed and were weak, but still succeed in the end. Beethoven’s music teacher said he was hopeless at composing. J.K. Rowling lived on welfare before Harry Potter made her a billionaire. Walt Disney lost his job at a newspaper after he was told he lacked imagination. Regina stated, “The failures of those great successes convince me that our weakness is often flip side of our strength.” And “If your answer to the questions, ‘are you strong enough to serve?’ is no, maybe you’re asking the wrong question. Are you weak enough to serve?” This idea really stuck out to me and I strongly believe it’s true.

Be The Miracle strengthened my belief in myself that I can make a difference on this world, even if it’s a small one. Everyone does matter on this earth, and I want to help the weak, the poor, the scared, and the neglected because they matter too. It doesn’t matter who you are, you can become the person you want to be. I can dream big and become a psychologist to help the people that want help. The lesson of God doesn’t always call the strong. Sometimes you have to be weak enough to serve really stuck out to me. I always viewed myself as troubled or weak but that hasn’t stopped me become how I am. I am the weak that will serve in this world. This book just inspired me to keep believing in myself, and keep doing the little things in life that make a difference even if it’s a small difference. All 50 lesson of this book had a meaning to me, and developed me as a leader. I will continue spreading my positive attitude at Central Michigan University, and I will continue to dream big at Central Michigan University. I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in being a little miracle on this world.  Lesson 50, if you woke up today, God isn’t through with you yet.

be the miracle

Leave a Reply

