Psy 100L Class Reflection

Being apart of the Leadership Advancement Scholar program you are required to take intro to psychology your first semester at Central Michigan University. I am a psychology major so either way I would be taking an intro to psychology class. Since I am a psychology major that intro class was very important to me. Since it was so important to me I was kind of disappointed with the class, I had very high expectations for the class. Since the class was made up with my whole LAS cohort I believed the class wasn’t taken as seriously. Yes I believe it is a good requirement for the scholarship, but since it was a class required a lot of people didn’t take the class or subject as seriously as I wanted. As a psychology major I would of rather been placed in a class with people as the same seriousness as me, or people that actually choose to take the intro to psychology class. I do believe a psychology class is essential to developing leadership skills, but I wasn’t happy with my own personal results for the class. Being with everyone did have its perks; such as studying together and taking quizzes together. But I don’t think the atmosphere is right for students that are actually psychology majors. Since it was a class for developing leadership skills through psychology I did like our final exam. Our final exam was to write a paper applying psychology concepts to leadership. I believed that was a positive way to apply what we learned the semester to our own leadership skills and style. Taking this class has motivated me to work harder in my psychology classes to come. My goal in life is to become a Clinical Psychologist, and to succeed in that I need to work hard in all my classes. I am a strong believer in psychological help. So many people suffer with mental health issues everyday. I want to be able to help as many people as I can daily. Being a psychology major will help me do that. I was disappointed in this intro classes, but I look forward to future classes because the subject taught to us was so interesting.

Leave a Reply

